Football Results‎ > ‎

Another Home Win as Sarsfields Better Whitecross

posted 11 May 2014, 15:25 by HighMoss Sarsfields

Armagh League 1st Division Sarsfields vs Whitecross

Saturday 10th May 2014 6pm Sarsfields Pitch

Final Score: Sarsfields 2-10 Whitecross 0-10

The first division league met once again with Sarsfields at home to St Killian’s Whitecross on a bright but damp Saturday evening. It was to be Sarsfields’ Colin Stevenson who put the first point on the scoreboard with Johnny Reynolds adding two more points before Whitecross managed their first score in the ninth minute. Paul Magee and Mark Reynolds ensured possession was fed well to the Sarsfields forwards even under a quick paced Whitecross side. Whitecross added three scores, all from frees scored by their full forwards but impressive play from Eamon McGeown and long range scores from Thomas McAlinden and Niall Kerr kept Sarsfields ahead at half time with a half time score of Sarsfields 0-8 Whitecross 0-5.

Sarsfields’ Paul McGeown opened the second half with a point from play, and it was up to substitute Michel McKenna who smashed the ball in the back of the Whitecross net to start a very highly intense second half of football. After ten minutes, the same Whitecross full forward line added three points from play to leave a gap of only four points, but Sarsfields midfielders Eamon McGeown and Brian Lavery ensured most of the possession in the middle of the field was kept in the Hoops possession. From this, it was again to be Sarsfields Minor and Senior substitute Michel McKenna who set up Niall Kerr to add another goal to the score line and with only two points in response from the Whitecross half forward line the game ended Sarsfields 2-10 Whitecross 0-10. Sarsfields also want to wish a speedy recovery to the Whitecross player who was stretchered off during play today.

Sarsfields: Darren McAvoy, Peter Stevenson, Declan Breen, Ruaidhri McKernan, Ciaran Kerr, Paul Magee ©, Mark Reynolds, Brian Lavery, Eamon McGeown, Thomas McAlinden, Eimeid Murray, Niall Kerr, Colin Stevenson, Paul McGeown, Johnny Reynolds. Substitutes: Conor Creaney, Michael McCrory, Tyler Crawford, Michel McKenna, Darren O’Hanlon, Kevin McMahon, Gareth McGeown, Aaron McGaughey and Sean Skelton. 

Whitecross 10th May