Football Results‎ > ‎

Ballymacnab Prove Too Strong in Second League Match

posted 30 Apr 2014, 14:15 by HighMoss Sarsfields

Armagh League 1st Division Sarsfields GFC vs Ballymacnab GFC

Sunday 27th April 2014

Final Score Sarsfields 2-5 Ballymacnab 3-19

Even on such a bright and breezy Sunday afternoon the mood down at Sarsfields pitch was one of apprehension, with Ballymacnab controlling most of the possession in the first half.  The ‘Nab’s Gavin McParland kicked the first point in the opening minute of the game, a first of five points for the half forward. With Ballymacnab’s Kieran Hughes and Rory Grugan kicking successive points over the bar it took Sarsfields 10 minutes before corner forward Colin Stevenson added the first score for the home side. Ballymacnab returned to impressive scoring form with a 14 yard goal from full forward Jack Grugan and with Rory Grugan and Damien McKeown adding 3 more points from the mid-Armagh men it was again left to Sarsfields’ Colin Stevenson to settle a half time score with the men in purple leading 1-7 to Sarsfields 0-2.

In the opening minutes of the second half it again was the Round Tower’s Gavin McParland who kicked three points along with Kieran Hughes to give Ballymacnab a 10 point lead; one which the Sarsfields men would struggle to reduce.  Sarsfields’ first second half score came from corner forward Johnny Reynolds and with another Colin Stevenson point, the Hoops men again struggled to find consistency.  Ballymacnab’s Pauric Gribben, Gavin McParland and the Grugan forwards further increased a comfortable lead, and after Hoops man Colin Stevenson’s goal the same Ballymacnab forwards scored 1-3 in quick succession.  Late in the second half, Armagh Under 21 Paul McGeown sent the ball in the back of the net but with the final score from ‘Nab substitute Aidan Toner, this was to be a day Sarsfields would be delighted to move on from.  Final score Sarsfields 2-5 Ballymacnab 3-19.

Sarsfields: D McAvoy, P Stevenson, D Breen, R McKernan, C Kerr, P Magee ©, M Reynolds, B Lavery, E McGeown, T McAlinden, P McGaughey, E Murray, C Stevenson, P McGeown, J Reynolds. Substitutes: N Kerr, C Creaney, M McCrory, T Crawford, M McKenna, D O’Hanlon, K McMahon, G McGeown, A McGaughey and S Skelton.

Ballymacnab: S Hughes, C Loughran, R Gribben, J Gray, B Gribben, K Beagan, D McParland, P Crilly, P Gribben, D McGeown, B McCone ©, G McParland, K Hughes, J Grugan, R Grugan.

Referee: S O’Neill

Ballymcnab 27th April