Football Results‎ > ‎

Sarsfields Get Payback Against Doohamlet

posted 21 Feb 2014, 09:41 by HighMoss Sarsfields   [ updated 21 Feb 2014, 11:56 ]

Sarsfields GFC Derrytrasna vs Doohamlet O’Neill’s GFC

Quinn’s Corner Ulster Club Senior Football League Group A

Doohamlet Park - Sunday 16th February 2014 12pm

Today, on a cold but bright Sunday afternoon saw a revisit to the meeting of Sarsfields GFC and Doohamlet O’Neill’s GFC. The sides last met at the first round of the Ulster Intermediate Championship in 2010. Today’s game was opened with two exciting opening points from Sarsfields’ mid fielder Eamon McGeown, with one point returned from O’Neill’s Conor Marray. Sarsfields were to lead much of the scores in the first half, with Johnny Reynolds setting up Niall Kerr, and Johnny himself shooting an impressive 40 yard score with the outside of his left foot. Richard Stevenson added 3 points to the scoreboard, also setting up Thomas McAlinden before Doohamlet’s Conor Marray added one to the scoreboard to end the first half: Sarsfields GFC 0-8 Doohamlet O’Neill’s GFC 0-2.

With substitutions including Sarsfields bringing on Sean Skelton and Darren McEvoy the match started quickly with opening scores from Johnny Reynolds and Doohamlet’s Barry Maginn. Sarsfields maintained the upper hand against the Monaghan side with Eamon McGeown and Thomas McAlinden ensuring the Hoops side kept O’Neill’s far from levelling the sides. Doohamlet added to the scoreboard with points from Conor Marray and substitute Jamie Walsh but it was to be Sarsfields’ substitute Emmet Murray who added the last score of the day to end an enjoyable day of football: Sarsfields GFC 0-14 Doohamlet O’Neill’s GFC 0-7.

Special thanks must be noted to Doohamlet O’Neill’s GFC for allowing the use of their pitch, and for the refreshments supplied after the match for players and officials. Doohamlet GFC were without GAA All Star Colin Walshe today as he was playing in a GAA Provincial match playing for Ulster vs Leinster. 


Sarsfields: T Crawford, P Stevenson ©, D Breen, M Reynolds , D O’Hanlon, P Magee, C Kerr, B Lavery, E McGeown, N Kerr, K O’Hagan, T McAlinden, J Reynolds, P McGaughey, R Stevenson. Subs: S Skelton, M McKenna, G McGeown, C Skelton, D McEvoy, E Murray.

Doohamlet: J Casey, M Hughes, J McElroy, S J Connolly, E McManus, D Ward, C Boylan, P McArdle, M Marray, T Duffy, N J Connolly ©, B Maginn, B McBennett, P Mone, C Marray.

Referee: Martin Mohan ( Ardboe Co. Tyrone)