Football Results‎ > ‎

Sarsfields Make it Three in a Row

posted 24 Feb 2014, 14:19 by HighMoss Sarsfields

Sarsfields GFC Derrytrasna vs Ardboe O’Donovan Rossa GFC

Quinn’s Corner Ulster Club Senior Football League Group

Ardboe Park - Sunday 23rd February 2014 12pm

This Ulster club match meeting between Sarsfields and Ardboe was played on a cold and windy Sunday afternoon, with Sarsfields playing with the wind in the first half. Richard Stevenson was to open the scoring with two early points, with Paul McGaughey and Thomas McAlinden both using the wind to their advantage to score admirable long range points from play. With a strong effort from Ardboe midfielder and captain Martin McKeown O’Donovan Rossa managed to get their first scores later in the first half with points from Michael Hagan and Nishy O’Neill. Sarsfields retained their scoring fashion with points from Kevin O’Hagan and Richard Stevenson before Ardboe’s Matthew Bell’s goal late in the first half put O’Donovan Rossa back in contention to close the first half O’Donovan Rossa 1-3 Sarsfields 0-8.

A strong breeze proved no match for Sarsfields’ Niall Kerr who scored an impressive 30 yard free into the wind in the opening minutes of the second half. Ardboe used the wind to their favour with points scored by John McConville and Nishy O’Neill though a strong Sarsfields defence would soon limit Ardboe’s scoring chances for much of the second half. With precise kick outs from substitute goalie Darren McEvoy Sarsfields managed to retain possession and Johnny Reynolds and Niall Kerr added to the scoreline to put Sarsfields 6 points ahead into the last 10 minutes of the game. John McConville narrowed the gap with scores for Ardboe but it would be a finishing goal from Thomas McAlinden to give the Sarsfields Hoops another Ulster League victory with final score O’Donovan Rossa 1-8 Sarsfields 2-12.


Sarsfields: T Crawford, P Stevenson ©, D Breen, M Reynolds , D O’Hanlon, P Magee, R McKernan, B Lavery, E McGeown, N Kerr, K O’Hagan, T McAlinden, J Reynolds, P McGaughey, R Stevenson. Subs: S Skelton, M McKenna, G McGeown, C Kerr, C Skelton, D McEvoy, E Murray, A McGaughey, C Creaney, P Murphy.

Ardboe: N Bell, S McTeague, T Wylie, S Teague, E Devlin, T McGuigan, E Martin, M McKeown ©, O Devlin, M Bell, C Campbell, P O’Neill, N O’Neill, J McConville, M Hagan.

Referee: J Mulholland (Moneymore Co. Derry)